Importance of first Impressions…

In the previous session at University, we discussed the importance of first impressions and what our participants expect from us as their coaches.

How important are first impressions…

Here is a short video of what first impressions count for.

    (Skill Booster, 2019)

A first impression can say everything!

From how you speak to the players to how you present yourself to the players. The impressions we create out driven by many different factors such as;

·         Our mannerisms,

·         Our Voice and the tone

·         Likes and dislikes

·         Activities we engage in

·         The way we dress

·         Body Language

As coaches we should present ourselves with a very professional manner and this includes all of the above.

According to Mehrabian (1968), 7% of the communication model is to do with the words you use when communicating. 35% is the tone of the verbal communication that is used. 55% of successful communication is the body language that is used. All of these factors contribute to making a positive first impression.

For example, in sports it is important when introducing ourselves to maintain professionalism, this can be done by speaking clearly to the players and clearly stating your job role, by doing this it ensures the professional boundaries between yourself and players. However, when introducing yourself the tone of the voice and how you portray yourself is crucial as this creates the first impression for the players. Although you must maintain professional boundaries, when speaking, ensuring a friendly tone and not shouting at the players will more likely make them want to engage with you in the future. In Regards to the body language, this is the most important according to Mehrabian and in the video above, when linking this to sport, this shows the players how interested you are in their ability whether your listening, watching them play. When relating this to me as a coach, the first impression should be to ensure a good posture to again show professionalism but also relaxed to give the impression that you are easy to get along with, therefore players will more likely feel comfortable with you as a coach.  In my experience have learned that showing interest and listening to the players and speaking rather than shouting has shown more willingness to take part in the game.

mb

In regards to personal practice I ensure that people have a good impression of me, I do this in many different ways such as, for placement I wear a suitable uniform so participants know I am part of a team and I look professional. I introduce myself to everyone whom I meet with friendly mannerisms. I also ensure my work is always done on time and volunteer to do anything to give me more opportunities. I also ensure that I maintain politeness with everybody to make sure they feel I am approachable.

We also learned what the Japanese say about the different masks that people wear…

(Mybookofqoutes,2019)three faces

In regards to coaching…

I would say I wear different masks for coaching and my personal life. The reason being is I want to present myself as professional to the players I am coaching as it is important to be taken seriously. I would not wear the mask I show to my friends and family as this is a more personal face which is not appropriate for coaching as I am their professional coach not a personal family member.

What do I want the players to perceive me as?

As a coach want my players to see me as approachable and professional and somebody who is capable to help them achieve their goals. This is why first impressions are important as this shows the players who you are and whether they feel they can approach you and come to you for advice.

 

 

 

Reference list

Wiener, M., & Mehrabian, A. (1968). Language within language: Immediacy, a channel in verbal communication. Ardent Media.

MyBookOfQuotes.com. (2019). The Japanese say you have three faces. [online] Available at: http://mybookofquotes.com/the-japanese-say-you-have-three-faces

Skill Boosters (2014). First impressions and unconscious bias. [online] YouTube. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1z_r6RNzea0 [Accessed 5 Jan. 2019].

 

 

 

Leave a comment