How Placement is so far.

on

 

Since September I have been on a coaching placement as mentioned in my first blog.  Having had previous experience in coaching before my placement, I have found that this placement has tested me more as a coach by coaching a variety of different age groups, working with different abilities. However, despite the noticeable difference in coaching I have enjoyed my experience so far.

While on placement, I have tried to incorporate some the topics I have discussed in previous blogs. I have discovered from working in the field, that it is not necessary to have coaching badges or qualifications in order to be labelled as a “good coach”. I currently hold a level one F.A football coaching qualification to which I attended a three-week course in order to obtain this qualification. However, despite the coaching course being useful and giving me fresh ideas for future coaching sessions, I have learnt more about the art and skill of coaching while being on placement. When working with Sir Tom Finney football club, I have worked with experienced coaches and skilful coaches which in my own opinion have learned their trade from working while out in the field. Despite having the relevant qualifications to coach, I feel that these coaches may not be able to progress their career as a coach because of them not having their UEFA B and UEFA A licence, as a coach because they will not be recognised by a professional football club.

The most rewarding has been working with younger ages helping them develop the basics of football and working with disabled children helping them develop and enjoy football. This has opened my eyes to another coaching opportunity and another career path. Despite this being a difficult task at times, helping children with learning difficulties, I have soon discovered that it is far more rewarding when disabled athletes being to progress from sessions I have worked hard to design. Moreover, I have decided to show an interest in progressing my coaching career into solely coaching disabled football in the future.  

During my time on placement I have also come to realise the importance of first impressions as mentioned in a previous blog. If a coach has bad practice and sets a bad impression for younger athletes, this could lead to a coach not progressing in their career, not achieving what they set out to achieve. I found that while on placement that even the smallest of things can make a good impression or be good practise for a coach to do. For example, a useful tip I found was that having an energy drink or a bottle of water to drink as oppose to drinking a fizzy or unhealth drink, can demonstrate a positive impression for young footballers. I soon learnt from fellow coaches on placement that it is important to set a good example when coaching football and when not coaching football. For example, before a session is due to being it is always good practise to have the session set up and ready before the participants arrive. Arriving early and having everything organised is important so that the participants are ready and prepared for the session upon arrival and that the parents of the participants have the reassurance that they are leaving their child in a safe environment with a coach who is completely in control.

Overall I feel that placement has had a positive attribute to my coaching and will help for future practice.

Leave a comment