Background as a coach.

on

A good coach will make his players see what they can be rather than what they are.”  –Ara Parseghian

My personal coaching background mainly revolves around football, coaching small sided football teams such as U7s, U8s, and U10s. I am currently an FA level 1 football coach which I managed to complete February 2018. I currently work with an under 7s football team and rate myself as a 6/10 coach. I feel that even though I have had a lot of experience in small sided football coaching I would want to progress into older age groups to be able to get a wider knowledge and experience of coaching.

I have currently been coaching since the age of 19 but have started coaching on a more regular basis since coming to university. The main three aspects of myself which I feel is my main strength as a coach is bringing confidence to as session, consistency and routine to sessions and the ability to be able to work well with other coaching taking onboard criticism and sharing knowledge.

The areas which I feel I need to improve as a coach would be to extend my knowledge on football coaching by extending my education in this field by gaining more coaching badges, progressing onto level two and further. Organisation is a second area of improvement as I usually have a tendency to leave the preparation for the coaching session the evening before.

Leave a comment